Must have been shock…

I saw Jesse Jackson cry tonight. And so did you. But that emotion didn’t overwhelm me until I got home from a night of election watching (and for the record, I’m not a Jackson fan and let’s only HOPE that his emotion was sincere and not the fact that it wasn’t HIM on that stage giving an acceptance speech). You see, most of my friends are white. Not that they are not aware of this monumental moment in history, but they can’t or even don’t try to imagine what it feels like to be black and have the first black president in the White House. There I said it. And it was hard too. If you follow my blog you know I have a VERY hard time making race an issue for much of anything. I think it’s an enabling thing to do when we lean too much on such a frivolous notion. And don’t get me wrong. I didn’t vote for race. I just voted. And mainly my points of why I voted for Obama are lost on a few people. I was a McCain follower at first, then Obama, then McCain…you get the idea. I was torn for all of 2008. I was unsure. I was not certain that any vote I could cast would be the right one.

Yet, I still just can’t shake the sheer emotion I felt when words have been continuously spoken: “You will remember when…” And I will. Even in the noisiest of bars tonight. I felt something changed. Even in the slur of celebratory, and in my friends’ case, sorrowful shots (!) I will always remember when, and the shock has yet to wear off.

Yes, I’m finding it hard, even through all my arguments here about race not being issue, to just say, “So what? He’s just a black man…”

2 responses to this post.

  1. Jenice, it’s monumental because of so many wonderful reasons. It reminds me of Neil Armstrong’s walk on the moon when he said this is ” a giant leap for mankind.” This is a giant leap forward from the bigoted past of this country. Hoorah!

    Reply

  2. Posted by nectarfizz on Wednesday, December 3, 2008 at 11:27 am

    I know just what you mean..it shouldn’t matter, but somehow it does..cause it means that finally we can move ourselves forward as people. I think it rocks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

