I’m not rich, but I’m not helpless…

And that is why I think I have had problems with who I’m voting for in this election.

Today I stumbled upon Pat Dollard’s blog, and forgive me if you have heard of him because I haven’t. That probably makes me leaps and bounds behind. Anyway, I read a few posts, left comments and found people there welcomed new opinions though they warned that they are not PC or shy in their approach in any way. In response to one of my comments, I was directed to this man’s letter and it pretty much explains why I’m not swayed on Obama. The link I have referred you to was written by a black soldier expressing his disdain for Obama’s views on black America.

I will have to admit, I don’t know the true legitimacy of the letter. I only say that because how can I really know for sure? However, I’m also not implying that the letter is not real. Dollard (again forgive me if you know this already) is a journalist with a background in reporting the world of soldiers fighting for our freedom. I guess I’m just saying draw your own conclusions. But know that I’m convinced. Does that make me gullible or a person with newly opened eyes? I’m not sure.

So November will soon be here and my vote can go either way at this point for one reason or another. But something I keep running over and over in my head is how can there be change when we are constantly reminded of race, race, race?! And I have to say Obama is guilty of doing that. Don’t get me wrong. I’m proud to be a black female, but I guess I don’t agree on using my skin tone as a talking point.  I used to think that with so many mixed-race people in the world, we would slowly stop having a chance to bring up a certain race exclusively. But that is wrong. Obama is biracial and we still consider him as only black. Confession: I do it too. The idea of having a president, for the first time, with black blood in his immediate family was, on first glance, appealing. That was a knee-jerk reaction. But once you dissect things beyond that, color fades (so to speak) and you have to pick through what you think is left.

I’ve done this with Obama. And what is left is still uncertain to me.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I agree with your assessment about Barack playing up his “blackness” as opposed to his “whiteness.”

    I read the letter and it has a ring of phoniness about it. You never hear Obama talking down to a Black audience. He does, however, get on fathers to stop shirking their responsibilities but what’s wrong with that. We need someone to talk straight with us and you can be sure it’s not John McCain. Good Lord.

    Reply

  2. He doesn’t talk down, Mike. It’s more of a situation where he seems to not speak to them as more than capable without special interest programs. Again, that letter, can’t prove it’s real. But for some reason it grabbed me. And it would be really sad if it wasn’t because I related to it so well…even as a more than middle income black female.
    I guess what I’m driving at is that I wish the assumption of the average black person wasn’t that we need government programs to make it everyday and that we are not able to take care of ourselves…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

