Doctors can kiss my ass…

I’m fed up. I’ve had it up to HERE with constant probing, testing, poking, prodding, cutting, gouging and I don’t just mean on my physical person on that last one — I’m in deep with medical bills. As some of you already know I’ve been quite ill since the early part of the year. I’ve had to change my diet entirely, stop drinking (although I had one drink here and there and regretting every minute of it afterward) and I basically am worshiping the organic food (organic EVERYTHING) gods.

After constant pain, nausea, dizziness, fatigue and feeling like hot pokers are in my stomach, I still have no answers. And now I’m facing the dilemma of having a laparoscopy which pretty much sounds like THE most invasive surgery I can think of involving my lady parts that doesn’t actually involve removing them. And for what? Just to have my doctor trample my flowers while trying to find a weed, as my father puts it. I am tired of the procedures. They never turn up enough to solve my problems. And the doctors seem to just grasp at straws — and my wallet.

I just feel that most doctors are truly disconnected from their patients. They don’t try to fit themselves in your shoes — let alone walk around them a bit and understand what they feel like. It sometimes seems that I’m floating aimlessly in a vortex where no one can reach me or care to. Where I can’t get my feet on the ground. All of this and I’m trying to be a homeowner, which means I’m still unpacking, settling in, cleaning and decorating. And that also means I have been neglecting my love of blogging — and reading them.

What do I do? Do I just go ahead and do another procedure and endure a three to five-day recovery time? Or do I just heal myself…not knowing what exactly I’m healing?

7 responses to this post.

  1. Jenice, unfortunately there is only one answer. But fortunately there are many doctors. Find one that you are comfortable with and don’t move forward with anyone who has the bedside manner of dust mite. Good luck. I know it’s a struggle.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Dr Barry L Marks on Monday, July 28, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    TO say “I feel your pain” would be terribly cliche and inaccurate since I don’t have female parts! BUT, as a doctor, I totally understand your concerns.

    Great strides have been made in modern medicine, but unfortuantely empathy and understading cannto be taught. And fake empathy can be smelled across the room.

    Strangely, the people who gravitate towards medicine aren’t always the greatest at communicating or feeling.

    What you need to do, IMO, is get through this however you can. Then find doctors who want to work WITH you, who actually sit down and talk WITH you and actually show concern for YOU.

    Once you find doctors like this (and yes, they are out there) hold onto them. If you have to drive far, if you have to put up with weird hours, so be it. It’s worth it to get CARED FOR rather than just processed.

    I hope you find the solution to your current condition quickly.

    Warmest regards.

    Dr. Barry Marks
    http://healthybeyondreason.wordpress.com

    Reply

  3. hugs sweetie much as it sucks, you need to get the procedure done. There could be a variety of things going on and if they figure it out then they can treat it. I hope you feel better soon sweetheart. maria

    Reply

  4. First I want you to get well. Period.
    I myself have been throught the gauntlet of constant shots in the dark untill I realized these guys were just passing my wallet around.
    my advice would be to be as asserive, forward and demanding as possible.
    Its protocol for these guys to refer you here and there as it seems mostly to be an ole boy system.
    Dont settle for it !
    I had a case of diverticulitus. Which is basically a ball of shit stuck in your intestine.
    I took some Cypro (is that how its spelt ?) and it cleared up. The ET told me I should have a colonoscopy done at my age. I said sure. Who do I go to ?
    He gave me the name of the doc and I went to see him.
    He told me that I needed a referal from my family physician.
    That referal would cost me 120.00. FOR WHAT ?
    Just to tell something to one doc what we all already knew ?
    I raised hell because it involved me making a separate appointment with my family physician at 120.00 a pop.
    Anyway, after enough of my bitching they let me do the procedure without a referal from my family physician since I reminded them that originally the Et at the emergency room tech said I should have it done.

    I know this is a small example compared to what you’re going thru.
    But I think it would be a good idea if you started kicking some ass before these guys wear you out and you end up doing something you regret.

    Hugs and stuff.
    Micky

    Reply

  5. Thanks everyone. And Micky, hugs back.
    I’ve pretty much decided to keep going my organic route and avoid anything too invasive yet. I don’t see the point, as you pointed out Micky, of spending the dough and going through the pain. Thanks Dr. Barry for the suggestion. I agree about driving for the right kind of doctor. My gastro nurse seems concerned but you know, I just always feel like we will never get a resolution…

    Reply

  6. Don’t give up, Jenice. This happened to my Uncle who was finally and eventually diagnosed with a huge tumor on his pancreas. I do find it strange that, if the tumor was conspicuously noticeable, why his doctor couldn’t find it in the first place but that’s another story.

    Anyway, it took God knows how long to come up with that assessment. Even as unpleasant as it is, keep your chin up and continue your tenacious search for an answer.

    Reply

  7. Posted by nectarfizz on Saturday, August 16, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    Hang in there love..I am hoping for the best for you!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

