Juicing is saving my life…

Before you report me to the authorities, I actually mean juicing raw fruits and veggies as oppose to jumping on the human growth hormone wagon. It’s funny, I’ve mentioned my recent juicing to friends and I feel I always need to have a disclaimer because of their confused faces. The term juicing USED to be unofficially owned by my recent idol — Jay Kordich, the Juiceman himself — long before Roger Clemens got pegged for a different kind of juicing.

Though I’m typing this blog post from home because I have had a minor setback on my road to getting healthy from sickness that has been a nuisance for several months, juicing has been a lifesaver for me. Because I’ve been to a gastroenterologist so much lately I might as well send her holiday cards, I had to find an alternative to normal eating. I just can’t seem to eat like I used to and I was losing so many nutrients. And leave it to an episode of Oprah featuring a cancer patient giving up her martinis for homeade juices that convinced my mother to hand over her The Juicemancoveted juicer (something I have begged from her for years) earlier this month.

If you aren’t familiar with good old Jay, he is a guy who is obsessed with juicing carrots. But he doesn’t stop there. So far I’ve juiced celery, asparagus, radishes and ginger. My fridge looks like a produce aisle. According to his book, and his fame, Jay cured himself of life-threatening illness with juicing. I suppose he was more popular more than a decade ago, but I’m sure he still looks as youthful as he does on the cover of his 1992 book and he was in his 60s when he wrote it.

Being that food has been an evil for me, I’ve had to get pretty creative with this juice stuff. I’ve mixed some crazy concoctions. And I’m convinced that if I hadn’t at the time of my mother’s generosity, I would be a lot more sick than I am today. I know I sound like an infomercial right now, but I was surely a person who didn’t really get into the whole raw food craze. But I will have to say, it’s been a true help on my way to recovery. Now if I can just get my doctors to figure everything out before I turn orange from all that carrot juice.

Another aside: Booze and I are officially over. The world looks really different sober.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Wow. Talk about a 180. Can’t you just buy low sodium V-8 and be done with the juicing?

    Reply

  2. Hi Jenice,

    Loved your post on juicing! I work with Jay and Linda and I run their podcast. If you would like to download their Live Foods Live Bodies MP3 programs – based on their book, Live Foods Live Bodies – please do let me know and I’ll be glad to send you the links to get them (five programs in all).

    Best wishes,

    + + + Maurice

    Reply

  3. […] make some kick ass lemonade. Maybe spiked with a little bit of Tuaca (only in my mind anyway since I’m officially not drinking anymore). I have not been over to this blog in more than a week because making this lemonade takes time. It […]

    Reply

  4. Great blog! There’s plenty of useful information. I’ll definitely be back. Check out my blog at http://www.realfoodforlife.blogspot.com . I’ve been juicing for years starting with a “Vitamix” in the 70’s to a “Juiceman in the 90’s and love juicing’s benefits. Recently I found a ready to mix “Instafresh” powder that has 30 fruits and berries, 30 super greens and vegetables, 11 nuts, seeds and sprouts all in an easy to mix, delicious, organic concentrate that has 83 Active Enzymes and Minerals and 22 Resilient Living Probiotics. It’s absolutely the best raw whole food supplement on the market today. Great for people on the go! And all for just $1 per serving! Now that’s juicing for the new millennium! Just read the label and get a sample like I did at http://www.urilife.com/realfoodforlife/products.html I think you’ll love it! And yes, I still make a fresh carrot, apple, parsley juice cocktail in my Breville 800JEXL 1000-Watt Juice Fountain Elite juicer and I freeze the carrot and apple pulp for fresh carrot cake!

    Grace and Peace,
    Ed
    http://www.urilife.com/realfoodforlife/opportunity.html

    Reply

  5. That’s awesome! BTW, I have the same book, and a juicer, but I’m too damn lazy to clean up and naturally, my kitchen is abuzz with fruit flies heehee

    I’ve heard of so many lives changed by juicing. I am sure you will benefit as greatly as others.

    xoxo

    Reply

  6. i am purchasing a vita-mix this week as my ex – forgot to return the one i had some 15 years ago… 😆

    believe me – i need it… hope all is well – take good care. be safe.

    blessings,…palestar

    Reply

  7. There’s nothing like a fresh juice. Juicing has made a very positive impact on my health. Mr. Kordich did his homework and gives lots of good advice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

