Why the hell am I doing this?

I have been scarce here lately. I know I have. Some of you may already have a suspicion as to why — I’m home-shopping. But because I am in the journalism field, I don’t make enough money to make this sound even slightly exciting. Basically because I can’t afford the home I really want. I have to make exceptions, taper down my expectations and realize I may need to put work into one that I can afford. After chatting with friends and coworkers, there always seems to be an underlying opinion that I’m making a mistake.

I’ve heard one thing after another.

“You are single, why would you want to own a home?”

“Having a house is work.”

“Why now? Wait until you can afford the house you want.”

About that last one — I just have to say that I will be waiting a very long while to afford what I want and that means more and more money down the drain. The thing is no one can really know what it’s like for a person unless they live their life for a day. And the main thing I need to remember that it is ME who is making this decision and working on what’s best for my life. And if I want to ruin it with an almost move-in ready fixer-upper, then that’s what I’ll do — and with bottles of wine at arm’s length! So forgive me if I’m not all here. Though I was never all there in the first place.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Its the best, first and most foremost investment you’ll ever make.
    Unless you go with an ARM or torch the damn place, or buy in the 9th ward you cant go wrong.

    Reply

  2. Posted by MisstressM on Thursday, March 27, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Being single is exactly why you want to own a home. Its investment, and potentially retirement when you get older. I am proud of you…..We need to see pictures of your prospective homes.

    Reply

  3. Posted by ungraceful girl on Thursday, March 27, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    I purchased my first home two years ago at 26 years old. It is stressful and frustrating… and even still I wonder what I’ve gotten myself into… but I’m also extremely proud of myself for making an adult investment as a young, single woman. I have to admit, even with the stress there is a comfort in knowing this house is mine and no one can take it from me.

    Good luck!

    Reply

  4. Real estate tends to go up faster than people can save money so telling you to wait until you can afford what you want does not exactly work. What works is buying a fixer upper, fixing it up, and sitting on it a good long while to build up equity and allow the price to go up so you can eventually roll it over into something bigger.

    Reply

  5. Took me a minute to figure out what ‘home shopping’ had to do with buying a home.

    I pictured you watching the home shopping channel, phone in one hand, real estate guide in the other, questioning whether to buy that collectible Lennox santa or save the money for the mortgage.

    Having a home is work. Are you handy? You seem like the kinda gal who can snake the toilet or tighten door hinges. If you aren’t, tho…you might wanna think it through.

    I miss having a landlord I can call anything the dishwasher clogs or there’s a mysterious wetspot in the closet.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Nectarfizz on Friday, March 28, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    Even a paired down home is more than I have. I am sooo happy for you love! Don’t listen to the day sayers love. The longer you own a home the more it is worth. Also, when you buy a place all your own this feeling comes over you, you are home..and no one can take it from you cause it is your place to be you. I think it is fantastic!

    Reply

  7. Thanks guys, because this is about to be a very long road. It’s already been tough. It takes up all my time when I’m not working or trying to be a dater. Let alone I don’t get here as much as I did before. But once I’m home I think I will finally have some peace of mind.

    Reply

  8. Once you find a place you’ll probably do what I did.
    Lay flat on the floor and look up at the ceiling and scream;
    Yea ! Its mine, its mine, its all mine , mine , mine !

    Reply

  9. I bought a condo at 25 and a house at 29. If I would have known all the work it takes first of all, to get a home, let alone keep it up, I would have never done it. That’s why I’m glad I didn’t know. I would have missed out on the experience. And by the time I bought the condo, I figured I did it once, I can do it again. I had the experience, it was great, sold the house in Jan in one month (thank God!) moved to Orlando and now rent. Will I do it again? Who knows. The thing is, it’s your experience. People say things about houses because they have had houses. But that’s their story–not yours. Nothing anyone says really means anything (not really) until you have your own experience. Hey, if you want it, go for it!

    Reply

  10. Its about achieving financial stability and securing some kind of future.
    And achieving credit in case you ever need to open a buisness or an emergency pops up.
    There is no return on renting.
    All you do when you rent is pay someone elses mortgage.
    I work on my place at least once a month whether its plumbing, electrical, asthetics,appearances whatever.
    But I know that when I sell this place I know my equity is going to make it all worth it.
    We paid 175,000.00 for my home 7 years ago.
    Today its worth 445,000.00 with only minor improvements.

    Reply

  11. I don’t want to buy a home. My mother can’t seem to understand why I don’t want the “security.”

    She doesn’t get that I’d rather live out of hotels and a suitcase.

    Reply

  12. Oh, and good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

