Five years?

Last night I heard from an old friend from Nebraska. I used to work there for a daily as a city and county government reporter.  While there, among a lot of other crazy stuff happening like getting lost in a cornfield, I broke my ankle and now have a plate and six screws bolted to my bone. I think, in a way, being there that year was not only eye-opening but hardened me a little more to tough events.

Writing two to three front page stories almost daily was grueling. So was being a square peg in a round hole. Let’s just say it was apparent to Wal-Mart shoppers I wasn’t from around there. My friend and I couldn’t believe that it’s been five years since I left. He’s in town this week. And on this very Super and Fat Tuesday, I think we will partake in some revelry, catch up and feel how old we are now…

But speaking of Super Tuesday and time passing, five years ago would you have believed we would have a woman and a “minority” running for president — and looking quite promising in the race? I’ll admit, not being able to gawk at Mr. Edwards anymore will be hard. You all know how hot he is to me…but obviously good looks aren’t enough. Neither is idealism, gender and race even though this is a most historical primary. Being in Texas, I don’t get to play yet, but I hope you all who can vote today did before getting sloshed. I’ll be checking your work later tonight.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Jenice have a good time, you deserve it.

    Reply

  2. Isn’t that amazing? Really just five years! Who would have thought we could have such a societal shift in that period of time.
    I wonder why?

    Reply

  3. OMG! I had a crush on John Edwards too! Don’t worry that wasn’t why I was going to vote for him, I actually liked his commitment to plight of the middle class.
    For sometime now I’ve been afraid about the state of Blacks in America. There seems to be a devauling of decency, peace, and life and a scary obsession with material gain. I thought we were moving further from Dr. King’s dream and the possibility of a Black president. The promise and success of Barak Obama is such a pleasant surprise.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

