The end of the world as we know it…

I made a big mistake last week and I can’t quite thinking about it. I watched the History Channel.

To start, I watched a special on the “end of the world.” Did you know that it ends 2012? Well if you didn’t, start marking your calendars with a big red X on December 12, 2012.

According to the Mayan calendar and a load of other past soothsayers, 2012 is a bleak year. The planets will align perfectly with a black hole, the world shifts upside down and well, you can imagine the result. We have supposedly had a shift before, but this would be the mother of them all…

So if that wasn’t bad enough, I followed my night of doomsday programming with a pleasant little ditty called “Life After People.” This was an enlightening two hours of seeing what would happen to the planet after five, to ten to 150 years passed without a trace of humans. I saw how the Brooklyn Bridge would meet its demise, what the neighborhood doggie would do, what zoo animals would eat, how the plants would rule the world…

Dizzy of the dreary topic and perhaps a bit too much cold medicine, I passed out on the couch and dreamed of what I would do when the world ended. I would tell you but I seem to have forgotten…

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by thegoodpinkknight on Wednesday, January 30, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    Have you seen the End of ze world video on youtube? its roll on the floor funny… definitly better than the documentary you saw check it out 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by loudmouthprotestant on Wednesday, January 30, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    That sounds intense. I love the History Channel but those are two shows that I always mysteriously miss. I guess I don’t need anymore doomsday talk considering I can get enough of it in the church circles.

    Reply

  3. Yeah I did extensive research on the 2012 thing a couple years ago. Needless to say it scared the crap out of me, but I got over it after a while and put it in the back of my mind. Then I saw that same program on the history channel recently and it reactivated my fear of total world destruction (though in a very small way i wish it would happen) But my boyfriend slapped some sense into me and I’m over it again, though I plan on making sure I’m never by myself on December 12, 2012, you know, just in case… I don’t want to die alone.

    I know people have predicted the world ending throughout history and it has never happened, but you never know. I sure as hell won’t be by myself that day. Even if I have to beg someone to take the day off with me.

    This is why I don’t like watching programs like that. I get scared very easily and those end of the world shows don’t help.

    Reply

  4. Posted by thegirlfromtheghetto on Thursday, January 31, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    I saw “Life After People” the othernight and it bothered me how quickly the planet can change….

    I never knew about the world ending in 2012, so thanks for making me a little more paranoid … (Ha ha…)

    Reply

  5. Hang in there chicka.

    Reply

  6. I can’t get over it. I was obsessed with talking about it today over lunch. I’m sure everyone thinks I’m nuts now!

    Reply

  7. Lecya had a good idea: Just make sure you aren’t alone that day…just in case. BTW, Lecya…what kind of research did you dredge up? That would be interesting to read.

    Reply

  8. Posted by thegoodpinkknight on Friday, February 1, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    I have a question and would actually appreciate your input on this one. I am not looking for blog hits, I really really want to hear your thoughts… its my most recent post… http://thegoodpinkknight.wordpress.com/2008/02/01/i-have-a-slut-question-seriously/

    Reply

  9. Woo! I guess that means I have four years to do all the things I need to do to make sure I don’t die with any regrets.

    On the other hand, being crushed into a singularity would be a real bummer…

    Reply

  10. That reseach I did was a couple years ago so I don’t exactly remember (nor want to remember) everything, but there is also a spiritual aspect to the date. The date everyone is really pushing on is December 21, 2012. Supposedly the earth is going to shake off the majority people and keep the spiritually awakened and those few people going to ascend and be psychic and happy and stuff and Earth is going to be like a utopia and we’re going to the 5th dimension and a whole bunch of nonsense. That’s where it loses me. But most places say that there’s going to be a polar shift (the north and south poles flip) and theres going to be floods and fires and hurricanes and most of us are going to die. I live in Miami which is at and below sea level so I know I’m going to be washed away.

    There is survive2012(dot)com and december212012(dot)com if you want more info to scare yourself. Theres a lot more resources too, like If you look up 2012 on Wikipedia (the most reliable site on the internet *cough*) and go down to Metaphysical predictions you’ll find more info on different information on what people think is supposed to happen. Good luck on sleeping at night if believe this stuff. I’m trying not to think about it. I can’t even watch a scary movie without thinking about ghosts coming after me at night. I’m just hoping this is another doomsday predication that will flop.

    Reply

  11. All I’m saying Lecya, I better find a man before then so I can “amuse” myself for four years until we all die!

    Reply

  12. Hi

    This may interest you.
    Jesus did not die on Cross. Please don’t mind. In my opinion he survived death on Cross, as he promised to show sign of Jonah. And Jonah entered the belly of fish alive, remained alive in the belly of the fish and came out alive from the belly of the fish. Similarly Jesus entered the tomb where he was laid after he was delivered from the Cross, in a precarious condition but nevertheless alive. Jesus remained alive in the tomb and came out of it alive. Since he never died on the Cross, there is no question of his resurrection from the dead. This has been proved by the PromisedMessiah 1835-1908 from several arguments from the Quran, NTBible and the medical and the history.
    Second Coming has already taken place in the form of the PromisedMessiah1835-1908 as was prophesised in the scriptures.
    Kindly visit my blogsite for your comments and/or discussions on the posts/pages there if you like. Differing opinions are also welcome.
    I love Jesus, Mary and Muhammad.
    Thanks
    I am an Ahmadi peaceful Muslim

    Reply

Leave a Reply

