They just keep pulling me back in…

One thing I can’t stand — non-responsiveness. OK. Believe me. I’ve been slacking on my normal reads here but I’m working on that. But what I’m talking about is when someone reaches out to you and then when you answer back, they fall flat. I mean when they had a need for what you can offer and then they just leave you there…

That is what has happened in my latest “prospect” into another position elsewhere. The person I emailed my resume to emailed me shortly after and wanted to schedule a phone interview. When I gave the times I was available, I’ve heard absolutely nothing back. It will be almost a week from when I emailed. I’m still holding out but I guess I just don’t get why potential employers do this. I suppose it’s because of the “something better came along” factor. OK. I can live with that. Just let me know. Don’t leave me hanging. But who am I to dictate…?

So back at the work front things are getting better — again. I know why I’m doing what I’m doing but I guess I started wondering if I need to keep doing it beyond just the realization that a roof over my head is a pretty sweet deal.  I know there’s more to it than that. There always has been. I’ve been doing what I set out to do to try to stay motivated. And getting creative is just about one of the only things that’s keeping me going…

But for now it seems that the ever familir “they” have pulled me back in…the resume fury has ended.

One response to this post.

  1. Yeah, it sucks. I just went through this too. I waited and waited and waited and called and emailed and finally they told me that they decided to close the position due to budget constraints and they would contact me if the position opened back up. That was at least three weeks worth of wondering what they were doing after they essentially told me I was a sure thing…

    It’s so disheartening. I hate looking for a new job. There’s no worse task that I know of…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

