Can’t get away fast enough…

I think that in a past life I was some kind of wood nymph or a bit of wind that moves leaves about and messes up your hair. No. I’m not getting corny on you. I’m just trying to come to grips with the fact I can’t seem to be content in the same spot for very long. Or at least the same spot that isn’t offering much in line of, well — life…

Ever see that movie Chocolat? I kind of feel like that. Like I need to keep moving…

With new developments at work, my life and the fact that I’m always wanting to see and learn more, I’ve pondered a few potential places of relocation. Because of it, I’ve not been a very good blog friend and need to catch up on all my reading here. I’ve been quite busy on journalismjobs.com. First pondered move? Alaska. That’s right. All I can keep thinking about is the beautiful scenery of Juneau. The photographic possibilities are ENDLESS…

There are other places too. I’ve received some interest per email and will let you know what turns up. What may turn up is nothing. And I stay here in the scenery flat tumbleweed of Texas. But I’m still seeking everything out like some kind of driftwood who has had just about enough of her share of being banged up against all the currents. 

I know life isn’t smooth anywhere you go. But if that’s the case, I at least want to be doing my not-so-smooth life somewhere with potential beyond the newest bottle service, overly priced martini lounge.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Funny, I am considering relocating also. With the exception of 2 years in London, I have lived in Boston my entire life. Time for a change. Maybe NYC.

    Reply

  2. Posted by thegirlfromtheghetto on Monday, January 21, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    I hear you. During the past 18 years I moved 22 times. Sometimes it was just across town, and sometimes it was to Las Vegas. I have the itch again myself, but now that I’m married I can’t run to the mountains of Wyoming. But I fantasize everyday about working at a lodge, or a nation park rather than doing my boring job pushing paper for criminals. I try to read books or see movies placed in towns that I’d consider living in, it helps me deal with the inner nomad in me.

    Reply

  3. Dont move to Hawaii.
    Everytime you want to go somewhere you need to take out a fucking loan.

    Reply

  4. […] asking price. The blessing all of this is that I will no longer be anchored. And maybe I’ll search out Alaska again one […]

    Reply

  5. If you are looking for work don’t move to Fairbanks, AK. I am an African American educated sister with tons of work experience but can’t get a job because it seems like everyone is scared I want their job. I hate the day I moved here, and I am so ready to get back to the lower 48. Alaska is extremely expensive, so make sure you have a job before you get here and make sure you have some money in the bank. Try Anchorage I heard it’s nice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

