Random alert: January isn’t over, but still…

Resolutions are pretty much ruined in the first week. But I’ve got to say, I’ve been sticking to my resolutions  pretty well. Especially the one about yelling. I yell so much less which shocks my family. I pretty much yell at life. I don’t mean to yell at the person. Just my situation I’m not thrilled with. Or about something that went crabby that day…I catch myself now. And stop before the beast can be unleashed…

I’ve stuck closely to the resolution about putting myself out there. And all the calorie counting. I’ve dropped another pound in fact. Something else worth noting: I’m feeling like 2008 is going to be pretty damn good. I’ve signed up for a lot of stuff this month to keep me occupied and meeting new people. Each month I will force myself to go to at least four events not connected to my job or random bar hopping without a purpose — meaning if I’m going to a bar, there better be a game on!! Or some speed-dating which I will be experimenting with on Jan. 23…There will be video. Stick around.

In other stuff, last night I went to an opera event with this lady I met in an art group I’m a member of. They are all older than me, but I leave a little wiser each time I attend their meetings. Well this lady is about 74 but she’s really cool. She invited me to this French singing performance as her guest and she introduced me to some folks. She also said she would try to get me in touch with people who can help me promote my work. Who knows. Maybe I’ll get out of Texas one day afterall. You never know. Anyway, even though there was an age gap (she kept telling stories which started with “You are probably too young to remember this” and that), I felt that I needed to go to the event just to kick off a long line of things I plan to attend in the future so I can put myself out there — something I need to do more of to see what else ticks in this world other than all I’ve known in the last 29 years. It’s just about the best fresh start I need.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by MisstressM on Thursday, January 10, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    I totally cheat, punish and reward myself when it comes to resolutions.

    Reply

  2. Hi J.
    Read my list of observations and note number 41. Then remember the opera girls. Its always a good thing.

    Reply

  3. Speed dating sounds fun to me, surprisingly. I have no idea what I would say to the people, but it’s still sounds like a fun thing to experience.
    When you say yell, do you really mean yelling? I’m naturally loud myself, but i wouldn’t call it yelling. I just talk loud as hell so people notice me and what I’m saying. This comes from being petite and having a soft voice and people not noticing me in my earlier years. I just adapted and talked louder.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

