Stripper tax?

Short and sweet…

The state of Texas (my “lovely” home) will more than likely begin implementing a tax on strip club cover charges. Seeing how there usually isn’t a clamoring of support for “sin,” I’m doubting this new law won’t take affect despite the efforts of business owners. How much are we talking about you might ask? FIVE DOLLARS! That may not sound like a lot but that charge is ON TOP (pardon the pun) of what the clubs already charge.

Well, I obviously don’t frequent such places. (insert smug grin here) However, I’m not opposed to gentleman’s clubs even though I think the world can live without them. Mainly I just feel that in America everyone has the right to legal business. And strip joints fall under that category. Just don’t put one next to an elementary school.

I suspect that strip club owners would like to keep the cover charge somewhat low. That way the drinks will keep flowing. The tips keep spilling. The money that will come from the tax will supposedly go to help uninsured folks and sexual assault prevention programs. But yea. We’ll see.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Titty bars are like any other business.
    You can run them like ghettos , or you can run them well.
    Some are down right nasty and some are very astute.
    As a conservative some might expect otherwise out of me.
    Tough shit.
    I see nothing wrong with appreciation for pretty women, or nudity.
    But I of course would be the first one to throw a stick of dynamite at the place if it were next to a school selling dope and pimping out sex.
    As far as the tax goes, it sounds like the left has imposed another so called “luxury tax” on Americans. This runs along the same lines as the “tobacco tax” and is parallel in aspects to the huge amount of taxes imposed on liquor.
    IF ITS FUN YOU’RE GUNNA PAY DEARLY !

    I found a link that offers a more descript detail of this tax, with comments.

    http://www.perspectives.com/forums/view_topic.php?id=163378&forum_id=4&jump_to=3422715

    The new fee, which was approved this year by the Texas Legislature, is set to take effect on Jan. 1. It’s expected to raise about $44 million to be dispersed for sexual assault prevention programs and health care for the uninsured.

    So let me get this right. People who go to strip clubs are supposed to apply responsability to victims of abuse and pay for others medical just because they like boobies ?

    This is bullshit !

    Reply

  2. Posted by MisstressM on Friday, December 21, 2007 at 12:01 pm

    In that case we wont go to a Strip club in Texas. When you come to LA I will take you to one somewhere in the heart of Los Angeles.

    Happy Holidays Princess.

    Reply

  3. “If it moves, tax it. If it doesn’t move, subsidize it until it does moves and then tax it.”

    There really is no end in sight; especially if the subject of taxation is “sinful.” That’s why tobacco taxes are going through the roof and alcohol taxes are pretty steep as well. I’m not sure it this is a thinly veiled attempt to legislate morality or if it’s just a clever way to raise more tax revenue by imposing taxes on something that not many people will stand up and defend… Either way, it’s reprehensible.

    Reply

  4. Yeah. This is going to help. I am so sure that the revenue will be used for that purpose.

    Reply

  5. Hiya

    I wus a jist a reedin Miss Rachet artic bout shes to old n gray ta be a aktin like a teeny bopper
    an anuther bout she beetin hur hubbys all tha tima ya now?
    I a beetin ma hubby ass weel too!
    I says she sur needin a reguer hubby, hur datin aint no goud fur her dawter ya nkow?
    I wus 14 yeer old wen i had my kiads and I is a prowd graendmama. Miss rachetl aint rigt ya now? I is a hoppin glaed tha I IS A YUNGIN GRAEDMA YA NOW?
    I is a drunkin taday
    Yisterdaey my hubby waunted some hott steemy s e x ya now=? But I wus to drunkin an a pukin a poopin !
    hav a gud day mamas.

    Reply

  6. kepin ona drinkin yur moonshine mamas
    its a goud fur yall
    We gotta drunkin woopo sum huuby assis ya now

    Reply

  7. I firgittied ta saeyin I is a prowdly seekin a nuw hubby
    if yall nkow ane pleese lit me now
    thanenks

    Reply

  8. Posted by thegoodpinkknight on Friday, December 28, 2007 at 12:56 pm

    Hey if its a business it can be taxed I give no empathy to them just because the service they provide happens to be a hundred times more enjoyable than most others… and out here in L.A. I am used to paying premium for everything whether it’s worth it or not. Besides strip clubs are not at risk of running out of patrons, my pseudo boyfriend and his friends alone go often enough to cover at least the cost of a years taxes.

    Reply

  9. Who the hell is this “moonshinemama” person. They need some spelling classes or something…

    As for the tax. I don’t really think I have any empathy but I guess I see it as unnecessary because it’s a service as I see it. Even though the service happens to be quite entertaining.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

