To Dan…

To me there is no better holiday song than Dan Fogelberg’s “Same Old Lang Syne.” It’s bittersweet. It’s familiar. It’s heartfelt. dan-fogelberg-1-sized.jpgAnd takes place on Christmas Eve.

Dan Fogelberg died yesterday at the age of 56 after battling prostate cancer. Sadly ironic that his death was around the holidays. And so young. I’m a fan of his other tunes as well, “Leader of the Band” of course, like I hope you are too, but I can’t think of one song I didn’t love. And his lyrics will always haunt even though he’s gone…
To me there is no better holiday song than Dan Fogelberg’s “Same Old Lange Syne.” It’s bittersweet. It’s familiar. It’s heartfelt. And takes place on Christmas Eve.

Dan Fogelberg died yesterday at the age of 56 after battling prostate cancer. Sadly ironic that his death was around the holidays. And so young. I’m a fan of his other tunes as well, “Leader of the Band” of course, like I hope you are too, but I can’t think of one song I didn’t love. And his lyrics will always haunt even though he’s gone…

“We drank a toast to innocence,
We drank a toast to now.
And tried to reach beyond the emptiness,
But neither one knew how.
We drank a toast to innocence,
We drank a toast to time.
Reliving in our eloquence,
Another ‘auld lang syne’……”

4 responses to this post.

  1. Truly, Mr. Fogelberg was a songwriter’s songwriter. I think “Longer…” might be my favorite among his songs, but I understand the sentiment behind “Same Old Lang Syne”. I can remember hearing it when I was a kid, and being struck by the bittersweet lyrics and melody.

    I’m glad to know there are others in my generation who’ll appreciate the unique craft that is Dan Fogelberg’s repertoire.

    Reply

  2. Soy, thanks. I like knowing that there are other people out there in my generation too that can appreciate real music. He will surely be missed. And I still regret never catching him here in Dallas.

    Reply

  3. Here you go, AJJ. You might enjoy this (lifted from the indispensable Wiki):

    Popular culture

    A Dan Fogelberg signature edition Martin D41-DF guitar was issued in 2001.
    Two of his songs have been used in feature films: “There’s a Place in the World for a Gambler” (originally on Souvenirs) can be heard in the 1978 movie FM; and “Times Like These” was used in the 1980 movie Urban Cowboy, a year before it appeared on The Innocent Age.
    In a Bloom County comic strip, the character Lola Granola confesses to having a tattoo of Dan Fogelberg’s face.
    In BASEketball the deceased owner of “The Beers” refers to Joe Cooper and his generation as fans: “You kids today with your hula-hoops and your Dan Fogelberg…”
    In a fifth season episode of The King of Queens titled “Kirbed Enthusiasm”, Deacon beseeches Doug to help him get his son Kirby interested in football and toughen him up since he believes his wife Kelly is causing their son to be too soft and sensitive. While the other kids are practicing on the field, he complains to Doug, Kirby is in the car “listening to Dan Fogelberg!”
    In No Cure for Cancer, comedian Denis Leary suggests suing Fogelberg and James Taylor for turning him soft in the ’70s, based on the legal precedent of the lawsuit filed by the parents of the two young men who killed themselves after listening to Judas Priest.

    Reply

  4. J – I too love Same Old Lang Syne as well as Run for the Roses, Leader of the Band, and so many others. He kept it simple and clean and his words were true poetry.

    I usually am not a fan of male vocalists… but he was one of my favorites and he left us the gift of great music.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

