Day 50: Perfectly healthy fatty

exercise-magnet-c11754656.jpgI got the results of my physical today. I will admit that I kind of wanted the doctor to tell me I had a slow thyroid or something. Not because I get off on the idea of being sick. And I know thyroid disorders are no walk in the park. My mother has a very poor thyroid and because she has other ailments, all of the pills she takes keep her pretty much severely overweight. I try every day to avoid such a fate. The only reason I wanted to have something wrong was because I would be able to hang my hat on that as a reason I am thick gal. And not just genetics. I was ready for the doctor to tell me there was a problem, get on the meds to “fix” it, combine it all with my eating and fitness habits and just watch the pounds drop like the bad baggage I never wanted — like this girl a work’s friend did. I know that’s silly. Why would I wish for an illness anyway? Really stupid.

Well turns out I have a completely clean bill of health. Cholesterol, blood sugar, thyroid, blood pressure — every damn thing under the sun checks out to be good. Better than good. Pretty much perfect. I should be elated. I am I guess. But as you know I’m kind of impatient and I’m really trying to achieve a better body. I’ve even started walking to the store which is what I did on Day 48. I walked to the store and then went to the gym to work out for another 45 minutes. Today I walked to the doctor and worked out for another hour.

My doctor prescribed an appetite suppressant for me and did so kind of reluctantly. She said I was a pretty girl, healthy and young. She told me it wasn’t too late to get on the right path. She kind of felt like I was too hard on myself. I think she is right. But I have to be hard on myself because it’s pushing me to do this — and finally the right way and make it stick. However I should lay off a bit. There are plenty of people in the world just waiting to give me a hard time without me doing it. And giving me bad advice. Case in point: The Central Market “nutrition” lady. She was the chick who told me to get on coconut oil. My doctor is from India (I think!) and said that a particular region in India that uses a lot of coconut oil in their cooking have cholesterol and heart problems! She said coconut oil is full of saturated fat — the kind that clogs your arteries and told me to stop taking it. Now how’s that for a close one? I’ve been taking those damn pills for more than two weeks!!!

I’m keeping my spirits up though. Many of you have been very encouraging as well. But let me tell you a quick story. Or more like set up a scenario for you: Say you are walking to lunch behind several coworkers quite smaller than you and without really meaning to, you start staring at the fact that freakishly none of them have thighs that touch a single moment while walking. Shit. What does that feel like?

13 responses to this post.

  1. ” none of them have thighs that touch a single moment while walking. Shit. What does that feel like?
    Its like walking on you hands, you’re not missing anything.
    Being male this might be a little too much of a reach out of my dept.

    Look, you got a clean bill of health, right ?
    I’m 50 , about 40 lbs overweight, loosing my hair, 2 slip discs and 4 pinched nerves, steel rod in my leg and both arms. Always in pain. Restless leg syndrome.
    And your worried about your thighs rubbing together ?
    Enjoy while you can, count your blessings, you’re smart, and pretty nice looking by your avatar.

    I went in once to see my general physician for numbness in my foot.
    he examined me and went away for a few minutes. When he came back in he just ast down and looked at me for what seemed too long.
    Then he told me this;
    “The hardest part about my job is having to break this kind of news to my patients ”
    I was freaking out. Wondering what kind of terminal disease I had.

    Then he looks at me and really fast says;
    ” You’re getting old !”

    You dont want that feeling girl.

    Reply

  2. Ah. Micky. As always you have amused me.
    I will tell you that although I got a clean bill, I do have physical issues of my own. Namely a plate and six screws in my left ankle from slipping on ice while living in Nebraska.
    But you know the routine of women. The pressures of looking good. Of shopping. Of being attractive to men. I have all of those concerns plus the fact that well, I just want to be thinner for ME. Just once in my adult life I want to be able to get on the scale without fear.

    Reply

  3. I used to run long distance, play soccer, swim and was on the dive team and studied Chinese Kempo for 7 years. Thats the only time my weight wasnt an issue.
    My weight wasnt a problem till I got married, ha !
    Anyway, I dont want to go all doctor Phil. Butr I do know from fact and experience that quick reps and light weights are where its at if you want to loose. If your doing heavy weights at slow reps you’re gonna bulk.
    Gymnastics, track, swimming. Using body weight alone and a good pace is the best way, ask any pro.
    Meth works too. But the payback is a bitch

    Reply

  4. Yogurt is your friend. People who add yogurt to their diet drop fat at much faster rates than people who do not eat yogurt, and they lose belly fat at radical rates. Also yogurt does not cause heart problems — if anything, it reduces them because it reduces body fat and especially belly fat linked to heart conditions. You want this to be plain yogurt, not those little containers that are half yogurt half sugar goo and processed fruit. You can add fruit yourself and skip the sugar goo and get the anti-oxident benefit of non-processed fruit. Yogurt is also a good substitute for many sauces, mixed with a little dijon mustard it makes an excellent sauce for meats and vegetables and mixed with diced cucumbers and a little it makes a great sauce for fish.

    Reply

  5. [that should say a little dill]

    Reply

  6. Max is right about the yogurt. Only problem is that it doesnt fill you and wont stick with you.
    But its alot better than pounding some of the other garbage out there.
    The best yogurt I ever had was in Kaui, I was about 17. It was home made (nature hippy days)and theyt had all the toppings. Fresh fruit ( careful, fruit can be high in calories and sugar)
    Nuts , dates, dried fruits. I like to use it in my cereal instead of milk. Just mix the two together.

    Reply

  7. J –

    Im just glad you are healthy……….

    Chris

    Reply

  8. Posted by MisstressM on Tuesday, November 20, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    Hey ya gorgeous. I feel like I have missed a lifetime of posts. Anyway, I found that the best way for me to drop pounds and maintain the loss is when I ignore the concept of stress. Everything from the scale to the kind you get at work. I wanna see a new picture of you.

    Reply

  9. Ah thanks yall. Nice to have more advice — and good advice at that. No more Central Market advice! Yogurt: I’ve got some of the good kind. I mix it with organic frozen fruits to make smoothies.
    Chris: That is very kind of you but I would take thinner AND healthy any day but who wouldn’t??
    MissTress: Well, I can work on that on the holiday. It’s just hard to get someone to take a decent one of me. I don’t know if I’ll look any different really. I’ve lost a few inches but the scale ain’t budging.

    Reply

  10. TOP OF THE DAY TO YOU FOLKS,
    JUST WANTED TO DROP A SECOND OPINION ON YOU ABOUT COCONUT OIL.
    DONT BELIEVE ALL YOU HEAR ABOUT THIS PRODUCT. FIRST OFF YOU WANT XTRA VIRGIN COCONUT OIL.
    SECOND YOU DONT WANT CAPSULES, AND THIRD REMEMBER THIS, IN THE PHILIPPINES THE COCONUT TREE IS CALLED THE TREE OF LIFE. REMEMBER THE TOM HANKS MOVIE ‘CASTAWAY’. i KNOW ITS ONLY A MOVIE BUT FACT IS YOU CAN LIVE OFF COCONUTS ALONE.

    Reply

  11. “” none of them have thighs that touch a single moment while walking. Shit. What does that feel like?”

    I don’t know. I think that’d be a question for a guy to answer.

    Just maybe, AJJ, you should worry less about dropping weight and get into sculpting some muscle. Look at my Marilyn Monroe post.

    Reply

  12. Otay. I’m going to have a gander…

    Reply

  13. […] have had my thyroid checked before so I thought nothing was wrong. However, my antibodies were never checked and it turns out […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

