Day 36: Give ’em a smile…

In my line of work, a smile is something I have to keep on at all times. Maybe more than my shoes.

Unlike a lot of lucky folks, I had to spend the weekend working. And working…and…smiling…and…

Anyway, while doing so, I was bombarded by the constant questions of when this and that was going to run in the paper. All the while keeping that bright and shiny smile and gleeful attitude only to nearly want to sob by the time I got to my car. Partly from exhaustion — mostly from burnout and sore cheeks from all that teeth-bearing. It just can all make you want to collapse. Even when THIS was what you kind of asked for. When I got home I was welcomed with an angry email from someone. Their story hadn’t run when they expected it to. Therefore I’m suddenly a monster…

That lovely Saturday I passed out even before SNL ended. So Day 36 meant that I walked the lake near my apartment and carried my camera with me. I will probably post some in my Flickr account along with those Dia de los Muertos photos I took a few weekends ago…

Day 36 I decided to push aside my smile. I packed only water and the camera. The smile somehow got left at home. Those who passed me on the trail may have thought I looked serene but definitely not gleeful. It felt nice and I absorbed every breeze, every animal noise and smell. I walked for about two hours and then pumped some iron. Then capped off the night busting a Martha Stewart and decorating way too damn early for Christmas. I think that works for the countdown…

3 responses to this post.

  1. When I was at the Olympia I was in awe of how all the girls stood on the stage for hours at a time, holding their perfect poses and smiling the WHOLE time. I wonder if there’s invisible tape holding up the corner of their lips.

    BTW, where are your photos at? Me like to see!

    Reply

  2. Click the “my photography” link…

    Reply

  3. I’ve been meaning to do this. I’ll get there today. Sorry!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

