Day 25: Not ready for the before and after shot

I’ve been thinking about how I “forgot” to shoot a BEFORE photo. Sure the one I have on my countdown page was supposed to suffice but the helmet, fishnets, knee pads and skates are distracting. Then I thought am I even ready for the BEFORE photo…?

Thing is I’m usually the one behind the camera and I’m really picky about who takes my photo. I always hate it. The other problem is that I’ve lost inches, so the BEFORE photo wouldn’t be accurate. Maybe it should be an AFTER THE MISSING BEFORE PHOTO photo.  However my inches lost are probably not even significant enough to be detected…And did I mention I’m a photographer without a tripod?

Anyway, I haven’t worked out since Day 21 but I’ve managed to lose a whopping two pounds and like I said, a (very) few inches. I blame stress, fluctuating water weight and general malaise for the extremely minor accomplishment. I have until January 27 to get this right. I’ll settle for my old fighting weight — pre-college graduation. I will be heading to the gym tonight after this post…even though this day ended pretty much with a work-related phone call that lasted two hours during dinner.

I can say that I’ve not had a single Sonic slush or burger in two weeks. I’ve been immersed in salads, stews,  and protein. I’ve limited severe indulges to one or twice a week — i.e. Tuaca Lemondrop Martinis and the like. But I’ve let Hefeweizen, organic flatbread and pasta slip in. I’m starting to think the triple threat holiday season is about the silliest time to get hot.

And for now, here is my best BEFORE:

fooled-ya-again.jpg

Photo by Hal Samples. It was taken last month. And yes. I know. Not really a full-length photo…

10 responses to this post.

  1. Hey pretty girl! This is a great shot. Being on the diet/exercise drudge myself, I know what you mean about the upcoming holiday season…it’s going to be a challenge. But I keep looking at a photograph of myself taken 6 years ago, when I was hot and didn’t realize it, and it makes me want to keep going. I want to be her again.

    Reply

  2. Karen, that is so kind of you to say! And I think I fooled everyone again because it’s not a total picture of me. Same as the roller derby one….
    I feel ya about the photograph…I have one too that I refer to and so far, at least this week, it’s kept me away from my favorite foods!

    Reply

  3. Looks like a great shot of you.

    Reply

  4. OMIGOD, a smiling J!!!!!

    Reply

  5. Posted by MisstressM on Friday, October 26, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    Insert cat whistle here…..you are one hawt mamma….and about the inches…those bastards! Well they take a while and almost overnight they disappear. So dont give up

    Reply

  6. Thanks Misstress and mar as well.
    Misstress, I’m somewhat glad to hear about the delay in dropping. It gives me hope that by next week I’ll see a vast improvement. At least I hope!!! That is also if I skip in Halloween goodies. Ok, speaking of which. I’ve already got on here today when I said I wouldn’t! Have a great weekend.

    Reply

  7. Hey – cutie in the photo,

    Quality weight loss is a slow process. So don’t fret.

    Triple threat holiday season? I’ve never thought of it that way but that’s the perfect way to put it…I’m already dreading Thanksgiving. Not because I overeat (well, except pumpkin pie) but because everyone tries to force me to eat!

    Just be disciplined!

    Reply

  8. you have so much life and joy in your face… you’re beautiful. indulge in the sonic every once in awhile if you crave it… there are things much more important in life than the shape of your hips. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Thanks e.b. Very sweet of you to say. And I’ve been Sonicless now for three weeks!!! But you are right. There is more to life. But I just want to give myself till my birthday. And we shall see….

    Reply

  10. Stil: Dis-a-what?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

