Sometimes you just have to say “f**k”

Ah, LOL kitty. I know.

OK. We have all been that lady in Scranton . Yet another thing goes wrong in your humble abode, someone makes you angry, you burned dinner — whatever.  As you know, I willingly admit to cussing like a sailor when I’m not particularly pleased but I can’t imagine getting a citation for it! Sucks to be you when your neighbor is a cop. Here is the story from the Associated Press.

SCRANTON, Pa. – Talk about a potty mouth.

A Scranton woman who allegedly shouted profanities at her overflowing toilet within earshot of a neighbor was cited for disorderly conduct, authorities said.

Dawn Herb could face up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $300.

“It doesn’t make any sense. I was in my house. It’s not like I was outside or drunk,” Herb told The Times-Tribune of Scranton. “The toilet was overflowing and leaking down into the kitchen and I was yelling (for my daughter) to get the mop.”

Herb doesn’t recall exactly what she said, but she admitted letting more than a few choice words fly near an open bathroom window Thursday night.

Her next-door neighbor, a city police officer who was off-duty at the time, asked her to keep it down, police said. When she continued, the officer called police.

Mary Catherine Roper, an attorney with the American Civil Liberties Union in Philadelphia, took issue with the citation.

“You can’t prosecute somebody for swearing at a cop or a toilet,” she said.

Give me a f-ing break. It’s your toilet. And it’s over-flowing. And I imagine when that happens after real business hours that is more than just a little bit of an inconvenience. Sometimes you just have to say fuck! Or whatever explicative gives you pleasure. It’s better than violence. No one gets hurt. When you release it into the heavens, you become calmer. You get a warm fuzzy inside knowing that you are in touch with your anger without punching the nearest person to the toilet. Where’s the harm?

I think instead of the cop being the prick that he was, he should have helped her with the damn toilet. That is what is missing from this story —  the fact that there are no gentlemen left. I say that only slightly tongue in cheek seeing how many of you regulars are REAL men I’m sure. Care to weigh in, gentlemen?

11 responses to this post.

  1. I know that it’s indecent exposure if you can be seen by others standing off your property, even if you’re in your house (say, with a window open).
    I wonder if that extends to vulgar speech? I hope not!
    We live in a townhome and are aware that our voices carry to the neighbors.
    We often censor our conversations out of respect.
    I can only imagine it being a legal matter if a) she were yelling so loudly, especially at night, that it came against the city noise ordinance or b) she was yelling obscenities at a young child (it did say she was telling her daughter to get the mop).

    Fuck the po po!

    Reply

  2. J, why do you always come up with these tough issues and why do I always seem to sound so practical?

    Ok, you’re having a party at your house. It gets out of control. Police show up and tell you to ratchet down the stereo volume. You comply. No arrest. I think the same rule applies here. If you don’t like what you’re hearing ask for compliance. If you don’t get it, then you can pursue it legally. But as the story mentions there is a young child involved. That may change things. Either way, it’s a one off and a really stupid issue to be filling our court system with.

    Reply

  3. Could that woman turn around and sue for invasion of privacy? Jeez friggin’ louise – some folks have too much bloody time on their hands. As far as that cop – maybe he is a macho macho man – a macho macho man would never help a lady – his poker playing cigar smokin’ beer drinkin’ buds would likely tease him – poor little man – and I do mean LITTLE! Twit. 😆

    Reply

  4. Hell yeah I would have helped. I would have stood there and yelled every obscenity I could think of right along with her! It helps. Yes. It Does. I bet we both would have ended up to our ankles in shit water and laffing.
    Cop=twit/twat

    Reply

  5. Ahahaha. 60 that was funny as hell…shit water? Classic.

    Bagel, you go all lawyer on my ass.

    Pale, I hear ya sista. What a little man to have just turned that chick in, instead of helping her out. I mean hell, she’s more than likely a single mother trying to get her “shit” together. Hahaha, I love puns.

    Reply

  6. Next thing you know some asshole will report you for blog profanities.

    Maybe that guy was afraid of a little shit. Pussy!

    Reply

  7. BTW, am I the only one who thinks it’s weird – a cop calling the cops? I’d never dare dial 911 for such a stupid reason either. That guy does have some nerve.

    Reply

  8. I’ll tell you, first off I am a sailor and swear as such. I have a filthy mouth and I am proud of it. Anybody who can’t handle it should really take some lessons in toughening up a bit. I mean, how big of a weenie do you have to be to take offense to some profanity?

    As for helping out, sure, why not? I’m something of a gentleman and am always willing to help out a woman in need. Unless of course she’s one of those “strong independent” types who hate the idea of a man helping out… In which case she canb wallow in her overflowing toilet 🙂

    Reply

  9. Stiletto, nope. You are not the only one who thinks it’s weird. I pondered the same thing!
    Arc, good to know. I knew you were a good soldier!

    Reply

  10. And yes. Grand. There you go again with the practical approach! *grumbles*

    Reply

  11. Boy, am I glad I got out of Scranton when I did. Funny thing is, I always called it Scranfuckington all the while I was there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

