Day one at the apartment gym

So the new apartment has a gym. And not any kind of apartment gym that may as well be a closet with some equipment in it. You can actually breathe in this one. And there’s a great view of all the foliage and the creek surrounding the complex. I have to say all of this makes life a little easier working out.

Prior to this gym, I was working out at Curves. Yes, as you may have stereotypically pegged — Curves is really more for the mature ladies. I used to think this was just a stigma that was attached to Curves by the naysayers of their 30-minute circuit approach. But I think I was the only under 40 chick there and the only one that wasn’t a school teacher. And even though they tell you that 30-minute circuit is as good as a REAL gym, I think they are wrong. I never felt like I really pushed it like I would at a regular gym.

Plus one thing all Curves around here share is crazy hours not fit for chick that has no real set 9 to 5 schedule. The hours are only fit for who my father says are “respectable women.” Don’t misunderstand. He’s not saying I’m not respectable (well I don’t care if I’m not, hahaha) but that mainly that’s the whole angle of the Curves franchise. The hours are pretty much for housewives, teachers, secretaries and veterinarians. Anyway, I’ll miss those ladies and their crazy neighborhood gossip

Other than fighting off a spider hanging from the lat machine, the workout went well and I’m sure the thighs will be sore in the morning. I like the burn. And I have to add that all of this is either ironic or appropriate after going on about the food at the fair earlier today.

6 responses to this post.

  1. gym sounds good 🙂 I need to get back on track…stay strong with it!

    Reply

  2. It just ain’t easy.

    Reply

  3. My mom used to go to Curves. The way she described it, it sounded like a big ‘ol hen party. Just like you described – a bunch of teachers barely exercising and spreading the latest gossip. Ick.

    Reply

  4. […] grabbed a beer and started checking work email. But the good news is I’m pretty sore from yesterday’s workout  so I’m still attempting to keep up the motivation. Here’s to tomorrow. Already […]

    Reply

  5. Karen, it’s amazing what they say while trying to do squats!

    Reply

  6. […] Monday, January 28, 2008 by Jenice I started Oct. 1. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

