Lebenshungrig!

That is supposed to mean “fun-loving…” I think.
I’m definitely not German but you don’t really have to be to enjoy Oktoberfest. And enjoy I did this weekend.

Here is a Britannica definition of Oktoberfest:

Annual festival in Munich, Germany, lasting two weeks and ending on the first Sunday of October. It began in 1810 as a horse race celebrating the wedding of the crown prince of Bavaria, later King Louis I (1786 – 1868). The race was soon combined with the state agricultural fair, and food and drink were offered. In the late 20th century the Munich breweries celebrated Oktoberfest by setting up large temporary beer halls, each seating 3,000 – 5,000 people, and hiring bands to entertain the crowds as they ate and drank. Total beer consumption during the festival exceeds a million gallons.

 

But I just like to say beer-guzzling holiday…

 

Give the ol’ girl a spin!Last year I spent Oktoberfest at a little bar I frequented “back in the day.” This past Saturday was my first time experiencing the full, blown-out explosion of the event — without the confines of bar walls. It was out in the open, grass surrounding everything and had a great midway. And then there’s all the beer. But standing in line for an 11-coupon beer just about ruins your buzz before you finally get your next one.

I ended up getting a turkey leg though. I should have waited for the State Fair. But it was calling my name.

Anywho, I loved seeing all the dancing, which was located under a large tent. And I even caught myself bobbing my head to a little of the polka. I’ve got more dancing pics on my photog site if you want to take a look.

I also tried my hand at some kind of hammer game in which you had to drive a nail into a big block of wood. There were some guys there I had to compete with, but if it were all girls, I would have won fair and square! I placed second to the dude who won. Oh well. I’ll have to make my OWN plastic Oktoberfest medallion.

Overall, I didn’t get drunk like I guess you are supposed to at these things. And ironically ended the night at an Italian place.

 

Lebenshungrig!

7 responses to this post.

  1. This weekend, I made up for what you didn’t drink!

    Reply

  2. Perhaps I’m thinking too precisely upon the event, Arm Jerker J., but it strikes me as hardly coincidental — unless of course you were strong-armed — that you, a stated Arm Jerker, “ended up getting a turkey leg.”

    I sincerely hope that’s not a knee-jerk reaction, on my part.

    Reply

  3. Beer, food and music . . . My kind of event. According to my Google translator (I really don’t know how accurate it is) the word “lebenshungrig” translates to “life-hungry”.

    Reply

  4. I had my own version of Oktoberfest Laurie Style all Sunday afternoon.

    See, when I got out of my car in the parking lot of the restaurant where I was to meet friends, I started to walk to the front door. A few seconds later–out of the corner of my eye, I thought someone was skulking way too close behind me…as if ready to pounce, to attack!! Turns out it was just my own ass.

    Yes, that’s right…my ass is now the size of a rapist.

    Mein Gott!!!

    So you see, I HAD to get drunk.

    Thank you,
    LK

    Reply

  5. HA! Laurie. Your ass can’t be THAT big.

    Anti: You have again stumped me with your phrases.

    Reply

  6. J –

    Sounds like a good time and reminds me of my grandparents. Fettit (my somewhat other half) and I are off to Michigan this weekend where I will attend my bro’s 50th b-day party and he is off to Frankenmuth (a traditional Bavaria town in MI) for his nieces wedding. I’m sure both will be like Ocktoberfest….

    I do hope within the next couple of years to get over to Germany for the REAL DEAL though… a stein of germany’s best with a bratwurst or two… oh yeah.. and the Polka music.

    So glad you had fun… and it is odd that you ended up an Italian restaurant. You should have had more then the turkey leg (you sure you weren’t at the renassaince festival?)

    Chris
    http://www.2288beckleyrd.com

    Reply

  7. I’m love anything that involved beer. Even root beer. YAY OKTOBERFEST!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

