Religion, humor and Ms. Griffin

I’m keeping this a light weekend. My brain just can’t function while enduring this hellish move that by now I’m sure you are tired of hearing about. No worries because I’m about to be done by next week.

But I just have to give a big So What? to the fact that Kathy Griffin told Jesus to suck it. Read and hear the audio here at LAist. You will need to hear it there because you won’t hear it this weekend when the Emmy’s award show will be broadcasted on E! thanks to the god of censorship. It’s about time that bitch won something. Ms. Griffin is a Kathy at last year’s Emmy’shard-working, loud-mouth mess of hilarity in my book. And I just can’t understand why people can’t just get the joke in that speech. Now the Catholics are after her and she was raised Catholic with roots set in Irish pride. I trust she really doesn’t want Jesus to suck eggs.

I’m a person who HATES the whole “I would like to thank God” speech. It always seems so insincere. I think some “religious” people feel obligated to say it, even if they really don’t mean it. What they really mean to say is, “I would really like to thank myself for landing this role and kicking so much ass to get here, but I can’t say that because I have to thank God, Jesus then my mum.” I’m not saying NOT to thank God but I bet whoever is upstairs can sniff the bullshit from the people who claim to put God first. I’m going to get murdered for that last statement but I don’t think that you can disagree that there are phonies out there who don’t really walk their talk. Hence her dig at the supidity of people who insincerely thank God and use it so lightly.

I admire Griffin for her ballsy approach and her purposeful gaudiness. It got her far enough in life. Even on the “D” list.

I would like to thank cleaning fumes, morning cartoons, insomnia and dissillusion for this post. Thank you.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Ha! yes, very ballsy. Lovin’ it.

    Reply

  2. A lot of folks didnt get that she is just tired of every slob who gets a little bobble head and goes up and starts with the Jesus thing. When half of them two faced pricks live like the antichrist most of the time.
    Good for her, I knew what she was saying.

    Reply

  3. BRAVO BRAVO BRAVO to you and to Kathy G. She is extreme and coarse.

    I don’t watch her show “religiously” but I really like her.

    J – look for something less RANTING (and less serious than Illegal Immigration) and more fun tomorrow morning on my blog. I got a little creative thought this morning and will finish up writing it tonight.

    Try to enjoy your weekend and don’t work too hard.

    Chris
    http://www.2288beckleyrd.com

    Reply

  4. I love her gutsyness and her irreverance. People take stuff waaaaay too seriously. Sarah Silverman got some shit for her post-Britney performance comments too. Lighten up people!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

