Is 30 the new adolescence?

As I’m sitting here typing this, I am on somewhat of a “vacation.” I decided to take another day off after Labor Day but most of what I’ve done today has been work related, splash in a little wine, playing with the cat and a lot of blogging. I don’t know why I’ve felt like musing so much these past few days but one thing came to mind. I feel like I’m going through the first stages of a new self-discovery. I will spare you any flowery inspirational quotes and strange optimistim — I’m fresh out.

The way I see it I’ve had at least two major phases of my life. The first being the one we all go through — adolescence. The second for me in my early and mid 20s was quite explorative. I’ll leave it at that but I will say there were a few trips to Cancun involved, two “engagements” and an interesting stint as a cocktail waitress. Not necessarily in that order.

Now as I’m fumbling towards 30 years old, I can say I’ve recently had an overt amount of growth and loss to go along with it. Friends have faded or have been neglected for all the right reasons and some cut ties with much fervor. More resposibilities are in my lap and my time is not always my own. I found that I have become increasingly opposite of who I was even last year. But what is funny about all this is that it feels like how it did that first day of high school. All the jitters. All of the excitement. And a lot of headaches. Trying to find where you fit and who you fit with — yea, that sounds about right. Then deciding it didn’t matter afterall. Learning new things about yourself, new interests and the things that make you happy. That was adolescence and it’s me now.

So what does it all add up to? Is it just stinted growth or is 30 like embracing your early teens. Is it like when you first got your damned period. When your jewels finally dropped. When you first noticed hair — down there. Is this all a new beginning? Or is it just the wine?

13 responses to this post.

  1. No I think it is 40.
    When you hit 30 you freak out, I know I did, thinking life is now going to be totally different. Be that as it may, it was the most maturing and conservative decade for me, the decade when I got REALLY serious about career, life, building an empire (in my mind), security, etc. It was the decade with the biggest setback of my life. Had my priorities out of wack.

    Funny, what you describe in the post is the period I’m in now…in the 40ties, where all things are possible again.

    Maybe it’s just me.

    You have a great blog.

    Alan

    Reply

  2. Wow. Thanks, Alan.
    And maybe I can just say this is some kind of waiting period for 40!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Paul Baylay on Tuesday, September 4, 2007 at 2:56 pm

    It’s the wine… you are not drinking enough of it…

    Turning thirty is a weird thing. You have all these expectations both good and bad and when the day has passed by you go back to getting on with life.

    I think approaching any new decade puts the shakes into all of us as we evaluate what we have achieved or thought we should have achieved.

    Great blog… I will be back for more..

    Reply

  4. Thanks for stopping by…feel free to keep doing so!
    And I will do the same.
    Also good to know I’m not really alone in the 30 thing as far as it being a time of evaluation and as for the wine…I don’t seem to have near enough!

    Reply

  5. Don’t worry. I am scared to death of turning 30. I’m a little over a year out, but it still nags me. I think it is a marker that some of us use to gauge where we’re at. I know that, as for me anyway, I have always said “when I’m 30 I hope to be…” and as I see the big 3-0 coming over the horizon, I see all of the things I have said I wanted to accomplish that I have yet to do.

    Is it a legitimate concern? Probably not, but I’m not always know for my sane and rational thinking when it comes to my own life. I know it sounds typical, but I’m always my own worst enemy. Hell, I joined the Navy when I turned 20 because I wasn’t where I wanted to be!

    I think it is just a number, but every milestone or goal you set is no different than that number. but then again, that’s just me, and I ramble, so feel free to ignore me at any time 🙂

    Reply

  6. Oh, anyway, moral of the story is that you’re certainly not alone in this one! Does that make us healthy and normal? hehe, yeah, that would be the day 😉

    Reply

  7. Ah the thirties – when you’re still young enough to be young yet old enough not to be a kid! I turned the dreaded age of 50 this year, with much trepidation and hand-wringing. Not so bad though, as I’m finding out, except it seems like EVERYONE is younger than 50. But to be 30 again? Naw. Nor 40. I’m calling fifty the new forty. Enjoy it, you’re doing the grown-up soul searching now which is what you’re supposed to be doing. And drink more wine, it’s good for you!

    Reply

  8. 50! My father still rocks at 50 as I see you do as well, observant…So for some reason 50 never scared me as much as 30, well not yet anyway. It seems to be the first real hurdle you have to cross in order to OFFICALLY have no excuse for your angst anymore because “you know better.” The wine helps.

    arclightzero: I’m older than you! And you have already probably seen more than I can even imagine by being in the Navy. Is this normal to be worried about 30? Well I’m not sure how normal I was BEFORE I turned 29!

    Reply

  9. Ah yes, we 50 year old are rockers from waaay back! Definitely hear you on the fact that 30 is the age when you’re supposed to know better. No more “but I’m just in my twenties” excuses. Soon I can use the excuse that I’m old for my misbehavior. Can’t wait!!!

    Reply

  10. Posted by Peter Hoppa on Tuesday, September 4, 2007 at 11:34 pm

    As Hugh Hefner said on his 80th birthday, “80s is the new 40s baby!”

    Reply

  11. J, turning 30 should be the funnest day of your life. It was for me. In fact turning 40 was even more fun. Age has it’s advantages.

    Reply

  12. Im hoping that 45 is the new 30…

    PLEASE!

    Reply

  13. […] At some point of your life you have to just accept you life as it is. That doesn’t mean being complacent. It just means making the best of now. And I’ve decided to officially stop searching for “something else” because I need to improve, focus and absorb what is my “now.” I’m not being idealistic because I’m doing all this acceptance sort of reluctantly. It just is a kind of growing up. I’ve said once before that 30 is like a second adolescence. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

