Do you have a card?

That is something we probably say just about everyday. Out and about we meet people, claim we want to stay in touch or network, share ideas … Then we reach into our pockets, purses and wallets and exchange our cards. Everyone usually has one — some for business or some that were just made up as calling cards for, well, ya know …

I’m in the middle of the “saddest” move of my life right now. Worse than the long and painful one I experienced a few years back from the cornfields of the Midwest. It’s sad because I am going to move into a nicer area but a really, really small place. Today I have been rummaging through useless crap and I tell you, the most useless crap I’m throwing away are business cards!

I had every intention when I collected them to contact the person written on each little 2″ x 3 1/2 well-intentioned card. But about 95 percent of them truly have no use to me even though I will probably keep many from the lot. Some of that percentage includes past business, sources and old friends I never will see again. However this move is about downsizing and I already have a problem throwing documents away and yes, I do consider business cards in that category because they are supposed to have value. Supposed to anyway.

I pondered how in the hell did I collect so many?! Some of them I can’t seem to throw away. Those in question are:

* Millenium Wines, Inc., overlooking the Platte River Valley (and that isn’t a typo)

* David Allen, Elvis Tribute Artist

* Country Acres Kennels, since 1972

* Goui Gui, African Art, Crafts & Djembe Drum Outlet (huh)

* Steve “Snorkle” From, Bullfighter/Clown, Barrelman

Honestly if I actually stayed in touch with at least a third of the people who gave me the cards I decided to keep, I could say I’ve traveled the whole world.

2 responses to this post.

  1. J –

    Do yourself a favor and get a business card scanner… or scan them into your computer with a regular document scanner… then you have them and don’t have to keep the clutter.

    This past spring I scanned EVERYTHING I OWN…. seriously. I scanned all my college course work, all the certificates I ever received, old letters from friends, you name it.

    I actually scanned every photo album I have (helping with the website) and then I also bought an eternal hard drive (and I still want to save everything to disc as a back up).

    I honestly cleared out boxes upon boxes of old report cards, newspaper articles, anything that would fit into my scanner. I threw everything away.. shredded or burned it.

    Just a thought for you.

    Chris
    http://www.2288beckleyrd.com

    Reply

  2. […] Do you have a card? Then we reach into our pockets, purses and wallets and exchange our cards. Everyone usually has one ? some for business or some that were just made up as calling cards for, well?ya know. I?m in the middle of the ?saddest? move of my … […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

