Road to happiness: Think like a dog.

Last week I was asked to be a “celebrity” judge for an event called Doggie Splash Day. If you are unfamiliar with this kind of event, it’s basically a free for all for dogs and their owners to swim together, goof off and enter funny contests. My category: Talent.

I arrived in a khaki skirt of all things (I had another event immediately before the splish-splashing fun) and some less-than-safe sandals, which I know was kind of dumb but I forgot my sneakers to change into. Anywho, one of the park staff helped me up the very tall and slippery lifeguard chair and I waited patiently for the contest to start while chatting it up with the other “celebrity” judges (one of which was an elementary school principal. Talk about red carpet…)

While I was up there I noticed that a large Labrador or Golden Retriever, I admit to not knowing the difference, stopped at the bottom of the lifeguard chair near my feet. Then I noticed that he was slowly raising his leg and … yea, let’s just say I propped my feet up so quick you can probably still feel the breeze from them swiftly rising to the sky.

Then the dog just walked away without a care in the world. I envied that dog. He didn’t care if he came off rude. He didn’t care if he offended me. He just needed to take a leak and that was mission no. 1 between chasing a ball and taking a leap into the pool.

Well, after the silliness of one too many dogs saying “I love you,” Frisbee tricks, roll over-play dead-shake attempts and one dog that appeared too shy to perform in the talent show, I decided to take a real hard look around the pool. Not a care in the world…

Dogs aren’t stupid but they live simply. They just need some stroking, food, water, playtime and a place to lay their heads. They don’t care if they shit in front of you and you then have to pick it up and dispose of it. They don’t care if they have stinky breath when they lean in to give you a big kiss. Their privates are out for the world to see, they don’t give a rip. They lick themselves and aren’t ashamed. They don’t care if you have cellulite, aren’t the perfect size or have the best wardrobe in the world. They don’t care who you date, what you do behind closed doors, your political opinions.

They just live. And they do so without the trappings we live with every day.

I am convinced that if we all lived that way, there would be world peace — well that and a lot of butt-sniffing …

4 responses to this post.

  1. Hey J –

    I am right there with ya.

    I have a seven year old springer spaniel (Edna Bitely, or Ed or Eddie or B – she goes by many names) and I want her life. Just give her some food, water, a walk once in a while and show her some affection and attention, and she is loyal to a fault.

    She just lies around all day doing nothing except follow me around and sleep.

    She is the queen of the castle…. AND KNOWZ IT!

    I WANNA BE A DOG!

    Reply

  2. You know the adage “treat me me like a dog”??

    In this day and age, how is that a negative…exactly? Not in Casa Kendrick.

    My furry quadropeds ARE my children and they’re treated with kindness and respect.

    Love them madly.

    LK

    Reply

  3. I know. And it’s all unconditional. Why can’t it be that easy for us?!

    Reply

  4. Ah, if only life were so easy, no? Of course, the big question is why can’t it be? Every once in a while I decide to mimic my cat on a weekend and do what she does. I don’t feel terribly productive, but my weekends are much more enjoyable than those weekends where I work so hard that feel like I need to get back to work to recover from my weekend… I’m sure some people would certainly look down their noses at such behavior, but I guess it’s more about doing it for yourself than for the approval of other people.

    Granted, I don’t think I would apply that to wandering around and sniffing other’s butts and peeing on their leg, but it would certainly help if we took a bit more time out of our days for ourselves with at least some disregard as to what others might be thinking.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

