Please put a stop to lip avatars…

ooh, so sexy — NOT!oh nooooz!please put a stop to this!ahhhhhhhhh!

Is anyone else sick of avatars represented by lips? Or is it just me?

I mean there are all kinds. Glossy ones. Ones on fire. Some with piercings. Tri-colors. Others with all kinds of chintzy clip art surrounding it. Many with special effects and bubbles. Lots with suggestive props…

It is a trend that has kept its viral appeal. Someone must put an end to them…for all that is truly right and just in this world. Maybe we need to start counteracting the lips with the recent feet avatars I’m starting to see…

Please put a stop to this madness! You too can prevent unnecessary, annoying glossy-lipped avatars.

Anonymity is important I guess — but come on! This is the worse thing since Simpson avatars.

Now half-face shots, doggies and shoes. Those are my favs. Leave those alone.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Hello,
    I’d like to learn more about your lip fettish

    Reply

  2. It is getting somewhat out of hand, isn’t it? I kinda like random images myself. My wife set hers to a rabbit she took a picture of in our back yard. I’ve also seen random abstract stuff. The lips just seem too sexual. We already have a problem with the internet being overly sexual no matter where you go. People don’t need to encourage it with suggestive avatars. I’ve even seen people go as far as use an animated GIF of a woman stripping. Geez.

    Reply

  3. I think it started out innocent enough; I mean, after all, aren’t lips representative of speaking? But, as with anything else, it blew up, got weird, got overused and eventually just got irritating. As expected, it also seemed to become something of a contest to see how provocative and sexual one could get a set of lips to be.

    Don’t get me wrong, I can appreciate a fine set of smackers, but being inundated with them gets a bit exhausting.

    Reply

  4. I’m afraid I can only pay lip service to your post.

    Reply

  5. People forget that the only time something is original is the first time it’s done, whether it’s lip avatars or being a Goth. It’s “trendy”, whatever the hell that means. As for me, mine’s an Evelyn rose I grew in my garden.

    Reply

  6. Thank you thank you! Someone had to say and I’m not surprised it’s you. You seem to be one who jumps up and speaks for the masses and I appreciate you immensely!! Yay!

    Peace, love and understanding.

    Reply

  7. Half-face shots? Glad to oblige.

    This isn’t my half-face, but the half-face of my favorite person in the world, my son. 😀

    Reply

  8. @ruby: thanks girl. I love the pumps…hot.
    yea. i had to say something. i was just getting tired of it.

    justen: i love your son’s half face shot. everytime i see it on the homepage. so cute.

    i agree with what was said about it being a trendy thing that just got out of hand later down the line. but now it’s time to put it to bed for good…

    Reply

  9. i will have to lean in favor of being against lippiness. Not only is it suggestive, it also brings about attitude. “Don’t give me no lip!” and they do, with gusto.

    Peace.

    Reply

  10. Miss Woman,

    I hate all avatars. Even avatars of avators. And I loathe EMOTICONS!!! Especially when they’re used my a mature person who really should know better.

    Whew! That feels better. got that off my chest avatar!

    have a good weekend. Be careful all up off in in Big D!!!

    Ciao!
    LK

    Reply

  11. Uh. I think I may have put one of those emoticons in a blog post…Ha but when you want a smile, it’s like a knee jerk reaction!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

