Dubya meets The Dead Zone: My encounter with the pres.

Several years ago in college, I shook hands with then governor of Texas — George W. Bush. He came to my school around the time he was campaigning and had a very blanket speech about vocational jobs of all things. It was cookie cutter. It was dry. And he was surrounded by his “yes” men as you would expect, controlling our questions.

But he still had to do the whole “kissing babies” routine so when he got to me I had my question ready. Back then I was a huge non-supporter of capital punishment. I have mixed feelings about it today, though. But at that time, it was a very passionate topic for me. I don’t really remember the exact question but all W. gave me was a very glazed over face and a fake smile and sputtered, “Well, I am a capital punishment governor,” and then he shook my hand and that was that.

Now I don’t know if you follow the USA Network, but good old 1980s geek turned hottie Anthony Michael Hall  plays a psychic named Johnny Smith on The Dead Zone. The show is based on the old movie with Christopher Walken in the lead role which was an adaptation of the book by Stephen King.

Smith can see the future and the past by touching things — or people and after shaking the hand of a to-be president named Greg Stillson, Smith sees the end of the world, literally.  Now I know I’m reaching well around to make a point and I’m sure not saying I’m psychic but I have to admit that I had such a Johnny Smith moment when I shook Bush’s hand. It’s hard to explain. I just got a bad vibe and a chill …

Whether or not you are a democrat, or republican, there is no denying the severe left turn the War on Terror has been steering down for quite some time. I claim no side. I’ve always voted for who I thought was the best person for the job — no matter the affiliation. But what are we doing here? And what happens, and it will happen, when the torch passes on to the new president? Campaign runs are a funny thing. You hear every day all kinds of promises from the candidates. The media does it’s take, covers the story, opens up the forum for discussion. Some instances like CNN take it a little further with some of their biased coverage. But overall we have the ultimate say about who deserves the job.

However I worry that the situation in Iraq will be like putting together a jigsaw puzzle without having the box with the picture on it to reference how it is all supposed to fit. Ultimately, whoever gets into office, where the hell do they start?!

And why didn’t I write to Washington when I had my Johnny moment? 🙂

12 responses to this post.

  1. Hello. I am contacting political bloggers around the country since I am one as well.
    I hope this email is not an intrusion.

    I am an admitted conservative republican and Bush supporter. Nevertheless, I liked your story of meeting the Dub. It was amusing.

    If you are open to doing a link exchange, I get some pretty decent traffic.

    Thank you.

    eric aka http://www.blacktygrrrr.wordpress.com

    Also, if you are interested, I am # 6 in the country at the bloggers choice awards
    in the political category.

    http://www.bloggerschoiceawards.com/blogs/show/21020

    Reply

  2. Posted by Peter Hoppa on Thursday, August 23, 2007 at 4:11 am

    HOUSTON, Texas (Reuters) — Texas, which leads the nation in carrying out the death penalty, has executed the 400th person since the state resumed capital punishment in 1982.

    Reply

  3. PETER! You gotta start a blog here! If you don’t already have one.

    Reply

  4. Posted by michaelgreenwell on Thursday, August 23, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    iraq was a disaster from day one. if i remember rightly millions of people around the world tried to tell them it would be but did dubya and the poodle listen? of course not.

    Reply

  5. I so agree w/you completely!

    Reply

  6. I meant I agreed w/you completely DUBYA! I didn’t read anyone else’s posts yet.

    Reply

  7. michaelgreenwell: he didn’t listen because of the dollar signs in his eyes i think. and the idea of complete power.

    Reply

  8. Posted by gasdocpol on Friday, August 24, 2007 at 5:00 am

    Actually the jigsaw puzzel is very simple . It only has 3 pieces: Kurdistan Shiastan and Sunnistan . Unfortunately it was put together incorrectly in the aftermath of World War One. In those simpler times, it was probably ok.

    We need to separate the 3 pieces and the problem goes away.

    Reply

  9. Will you run for president, gasdocpol?

    Reply

  10. Posted by gasdocpol on Friday, August 24, 2007 at 7:47 am

    Nah. I have spent most of my adult life in executive positions. I have been an officer on board ships at sea. I have been a department head at hospitals and president of a corporation. I have an MD and an MBA. No… I see myself as an idea man.

    I am capable of focusing on a limited issue to the exclusion of all else.I would like to help someone who has the attributes for becoming and being President.

    Bt if you are sincere, thanks!

    Reply

  11. No problem….just like when people use the old noggin…
    Speaking of which, Peter. I so mean it. I want to read your blog.

    Reply

  12. Posted by gasdocpol on Sunday, August 26, 2007 at 8:58 am

    Bush chuckled as he turned down a stay of execution for Carla Fay Tucker. Carla Fay deserved to live far more than Dubya does in my humble opinion.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

