Does Casper like cats?

Tiger Lily isn’t exactly the sharpest tool in the shed. And in fact my father believes her to be crazy. But one thing my little cat can’t be called is nonobservant. 

The last few years of having Lily, I’ve noticed she has moments where while sitting on my lap in utter contentment, she will suddenly bolt her head — eyes big as saucers and then she looks either above my head or right next to me. This has been even more frequent in the past year. Sometimes she even seems to follow whatever invisible thing that is in the room as is “moves.” This seems to be a nightly ritual for her and sometimes ends with her hanging partially off my bed and staring at the nothing that has “landed” on the floor.

Cats will be cats you might say, which is true. And I am in the hottest part of hell in the South so maybe there is a nat, or skeeter, or something stalking her. But really, for this long? She may be crazy but her queer gazing and sometimes fearful reactions to her possible “non-existant” subject got me wondering. Do ghosts or spirits exist?

Goose pimples when you walk into a room that isn’t cold. That weird feeling you can get sometimes when you enter a house you’ve never been. Odd occurances you write off as “just your imagination.” Are these all signs of the supernatural?

It isn’t a news flash that we don’t use all of our brains. (Some less than others…) Do animals? I wonder if we sometimes tap into, without really thinking about it, some other part of our brain that we don’t even know how to use. And is that something the capability to sense or see what we normally would not? This may sound kind of cooky, but I will just blame it on the cat.

Besides, she may just need her eyes checked…

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Peter Hoppa on Tuesday, August 21, 2007 at 6:14 am

    My German Shepherd eXodus used sense things in an old house I used to live in. It had unexplained “cold spots”(nice in the desert heat)that eX would stare at and track with his eyes and head. Occ. I would glimpse movements out of the corner of my eye, weird; could of been shadow people though! Really kinda Art Bell’ish stuff.

    Reply

  2. Hah! I think animals are not ruined by their surroundings like we are as children. Meaning when we are children we tend to have those senses but as we get older, we lose them from the exposure of real world stuff I think.

    Reply

  3. I’ve had pets that responded as your cat did. They looked up in the corner of the room, eyes following whatever it was that was moving.

    I am convinced they see things we don’t. Does that include those things that go bump in the night and ebb and flow in a realm that can ONLY be described as supernatural? Who’s to say? But when I say they can see things we don’t, that also mean the tiny, microscopic jetsam that floats in the ether of our rooms.

    Of our souls!!

    Now I’m just getting over-dramatic and pretentiously silly!!

    I don’t know Sister, but I used to host my own talk show about the supernatural . I learned enough to know that there’s some strange shit going on that blows me away and few people, save a handful of physicists at NASA, MIT and Stanford, could explain it.

    If at all…..

    Best,
    LK

    Reply

  4. “but I used to host my own talk show about the supernatural . I learned enough to know that there’s some strange shit going on that blows me away and few people, save a handful of physicists at NASA, MIT and Stanford, could explain it.”

    Girl yes. There is so much that hasn’t or WON’T be explained. But then again, that jetsam theory might be dead on…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

