Your “ideal” woman…

 9 times out of 10 she is not black.

I am a woman who loves men in all shapes, sizes and colors. Men are men to me — no matter the race. And I personally can say I have a dating/sexual history that looks similar to a United Colors of Benetton ad. But I can’t say that, at least in the South, I’ve noticed a real “boom” in other races dating black women. More than likely you see a black man with a white woman. I don’t have a problem with that but was once told by a black male friend of mine that black man seek out white women because they are considered unattainable, a prize. I can give you a nice little highschool memory here but I think I will save it for a later blog.

I don’t care who people date. However if I’ve got to play the Internet Dating Game (which already pretty much sucks), I don’t really swallow alienation that well. Just take any dating site. Do a search and look at what the  guy is looking for, ethnicity-wise.

Here are your options:

African American (black)
Asian
Caucasian (white)
East Indian
Hispanic/Latino
Middle Eastern
Native American
Pacific Islander
Inter-racial
Other

And of course there is the option of checking the box for “any.”

Here is the fun part: Just take out a little scrap of notebook paper and check the appropriate boxes as you browse the guys’ “wish list.” You can add the “any” box in your total for each ethnicity, just to be fair. I’ll give you a minute….

OK, did you total them up? Even the black fellas’ totals? Are you amazed yet? You guessed it! Almost everyone either checked a few boxes, excluding the African American (black) box, or checked every damn box but African American (black).

Pass it on, it’s an entertaining game you can play with your friends.

3 responses to this post.

  1. What I find interesting in myself, I like blondes. I dont know why, I have come to think we are hard wired for various preferences. Yet, I married a woman that has reddish brown. Hmmm, interesting.

    Never dated a black woman. While I find their strength a turn on. I wouldnt want to deal with it on a daily basis. As far as skin tone, you left out a “red” or for those of you that dont know. A very light skinned black woman.

    As a father of a 2.5 year old son. I tend to wonder what his preferences will be some day. I’ll wait and welcome who ever he chooses to make him happy.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Arm Jerker J. on Thursday, August 16, 2007 at 8:39 am

    Thanks for stopping by Frustrated! I appreciate your opinion here. And I know that even though people have a preference, they don’t always go that way. But the part about not wanting to deal with the strength of a black woman everyday proves there are still some stereotypes out there. I believe people think black women are just hard to get along with are always bull-headed. I think the media (even though I am in that field) has a little to do with this. What do you always see on TV? A loud-mouth, mean, neck-gyrating spectacle of a person and unfortunately this caricature becomes the general idea of us.
    Although I would like to say I am strong, I don’t think it is so much that it has to run a guy away. Though I would want to know the guy I’m with CAN go toe to toe with me and not just nod all the time or hide. And I think there are SOOO many strong women in ALL races. Lumping only black women in that category isn’t totally accurate.
    As for future generations, like your son, I do so wonder what they will decide for themselves as well.

    Reply

  3. I agree with you that my statement of “just black women” was incorrect. Dont get me wrong either. I like for a woman to be strong and confident. Know what she wants etc. I also have a 10 year old daughter that I try to instill these same values. I think most men want that but dont want someone who is confrentational.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

