the pressure of walking on eggshells

You wouldn’t think I would give much of a poo to walk on eggshells when my blog clearly reads as someone who says what she wants. But that isn’t ALWAYS the case. Maybe that is why I’m here.

Recently I discovered the agony of trying not to say something you are aching to say and in turn nodding in agreement and/or trying the most painfully diplomatic way to communicate a point or answer a question. My boss had me doing this after he asked me my thoughts about a coworker. I felt like I had just given birth by the time I tap-danced around all those damn shells that fell before me. Situations and people will make you do this — even when in most of your life you say what is on your mind. Guilty as charged. You have to do this because it keeps things as smooth as possible. 

But when you don’t, it just makes things harder for you because usually, and not so much in the case of work, who you are doing this well-crafted dance around has a history of taking you out of context…lost in translation. And a lot of times compounding that with the assumption that everything said has something to do with them when it never did in the first place. And when they do this, they can’t ever let you forget it. So for the most part you just learn to nod. It’s easier and you keep the peace, making sure not to stray too much from this ritual because you know it will not end well if you do.

I don’t think I can do that anymore. Unless my shell dance meant making the choice between keeping my way of life and walking around with a “Will work for food sign.” Otherwise doing all that shuck and jiving will eventually make you fall to your knees.

One response to this post.

  1. Hey Janus –

    I found your blog via Meliluvsu and read this post and had to comment…..

    Recently a friend came to stay for a visit and was a horrible, horrible houseguest. Demanding this and that… such as me hooking up cable in the room she was sleeping in… DEMANDED it!!!

    So the day she left I wrote in my blog.

    Now, I love this woman, and we have been friends for about 10 years but I was so upset by the situation I had to vent, but I had to vent in an imaginative way. Just in case she read it I didnt want her mad but I wanted to get it out.

    It makes it fun try to make a point without slapping the person in the face… don’t ya think.

    If you are interested you can read it on my blog. Im not sure what I called it but it would be around mid July that I wrote it.

    Please check out my website (which is still under construction) and “My Rantings-BLOG” at http://www.2288beckleyrd.com.

    I can’t wait to read more of your writings!!!

    Peace to you,

    Chris

    Reply

Leave a Reply

