I did a happy dance in new shoes…

Why did I just do a really bouncy, silly dance about a pair of new shoes? Could it have been the margarita I had prior to finding these great shoes? Or is it just that I never get to treat myself anymore to a pair of shoes that were over $20?

You see, I used to be a real shoe freak. And at times I think I still may be. Today I broke the heel off of a really great pair of rare looking, purple/pink shoes. I was just talking to my assistant and was suddlenly lumpsided. My right leg dropped and I looked down to see that these wonderful shoes I’ve had for nearly 10 years (yes 10 years) had finally had their day. What did I do? I went to the car (barefoot)after laughing and mouring the stupid things and put on sneakers. I looked like such an old soccer mom, but without the kids. I felt my age. I felt how old those shoes had gotten and how far I’ve come from when I bought them.

When you get older you realize a few things about luxury:

Money really doesn’t just appear after you charge stuff and magically pay off the debt you created trying to look as fabulous as possible.

Haggling is a badge of honor to be worn with pride, not something to be ashamed of.

After you have spent a day of obtaining hard-earned money, and realizing you just still aren’t being paid enough, those items that seemed to be easily at reach are suddenly held victim to being reevaluated.

I’m not entirely sure if I still long for the days of, “Who cares, I’ll pay later.” But I do understand that older means living differently now. And that when I get a pair of new shoes, they mean more than they would have ever meant in my past.

Leave a Reply

